Project #2: Mesh Dress Part 1 (Sketch and Swatch Test)

Hey y’all! It’s been a while. I’ve been thinking about this concept for quite a while, so might as well make it happen.

It’s been a while since I’ve actually drawn something, so the proportions are a little off. From my experience during college, your fashion sketches gotta have proportion as to show the size of the garment to the body.

If you think you aren’t good at drawing that’s alright. Sometimes, I use a figure template for my designs whenever I’m either tired or I’m doing it in my laptop. Depending on how you want to do it, you can:

1. Have an opaque print of the figure and draw over it via tracing paper.

2. Make multiple copies of the figure with a lighter opacity then draw on them.

3. Use Adobe Illustrator/Photoshop to draw over it. I alternate between the two but I tend to use Illustrator as some of my homeworks back then required flat versions of the design.

Once you’re done with your designs, you may want to figure out how to execute the pattern. As I’m loom knitting for this project, I draw the shapes used for each panel. In my opinion, it’s much easier to explain pattern pieces when you knit them yourself as they stretch around the body.

First swatch sample: Double e-wrap stitch, using double the thread wide setting, as my loom can be fixed into whatever you want.

Then I make swatches of the possible stitches I use. As it is very hot here in the Philippines especially during the summer, I choose stitches that has a mesh like pattern, so that it’s breathable and not too hot.

Second Swatch: Mock mesh stitch. Using one yarn thread and the pegs in a narrow setting. It’s not very obvious unless I stretch the swatch. Probably the most ideal.
Third swatch: Double e-wrap but with a single yarn thread. Also used the narrow setting in my loom. Looks good, too.

That’s it for now. The next post might be up later than usual as it’ll take a few days or weeks to complete it. See you then!

Fashion template I mentioned: Here

Published by Sewing, knitting, digital art, patternmaking

College graduate with a degree in fashion design and merchandising. Blogs about projects, yarn hauls, and studies about how yarn and maybe fabric behaves from experience.

One thought on “Project #2: Mesh Dress Part 1 (Sketch and Swatch Test)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started